Skip to main content

HOLLEY MSHS LIBRARY: CLASS LINKS

Celebrating our Military 2019

 

https://www.af.mil/ https://www.army.mil/ https://www.marines.mil/ https://www.navy.mil/ https://www.uscg.mil/

World Book Web logo
Search the 'student' encyclopedia by military branch for an overview and history.


A resource for current information.


Military structure & branches.

OZOBOTS

OZOBOT BIT

 

WILL ROBOTS TAKE OUR JOBS video

DRAWING PERFECT LINES video
DRAWING PERFECT CODES video

Block Coding video

Project Ideas
Ozobot groove- let them dance- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JrY2AyzI3mc
(we'll need to download the Ozobot Groove APP- see Ms. Osur)
Ozobot bowling & construction video- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KX1wuSiwViA
World's longest Ozobot track- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JE-FNIphTZQ
​Ozobot race course- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q5dVXL4ARgg
​Ozobot- the case of the missing Ozobot haunted house- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2C-jbsfBJvA
Ozobot bowling challenge- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rqnB3Xq3Quk
A driverless car simulation- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8tNp6pOJL3I
... and there's so much more so GET CREATIVE!

Mr. Thomas- Fever 1793 RESOURCES

Water system –

https://prezi.com/dtidrfmhapq6/philadelphia-water-works-1793/

http://www.phillyh2o.org/backpages/MSB_Water.htm

Food –

http://minisink.org/hearthhome.html

https://www.history.org/Foundation/journal/Autumn04/food.cfm

http://www.socialstudiesforkids.com/articles/ushistory/13coloniesfood.htm

Houses and Buildings

http://www.archives.upenn.edu/histy/features/wphila/exhbts/grubel/21early.html

http://philadelphiaencyclopedia.org/archive/row-houses/

http://www.phmc.state.pa.us/portal/communities/architecture/styles/georgian.html

http://www.web-books.com/Classics/ON/B0/B701/19MB701.html (COFFEE HOUSE)

Yellow Fever –

http://www.fofweb.com/activelink2.asp?ItemID=WE52&iPin=DACH0027&SingleRecord=True

http://bobarnebeck.com/history.html

Bathing and Cleanliness–

http://wordwenches.typepad.com/word_wenches/2011/08/bathing-customs.html

https://www.history.org/foundation/journal/Autumn00/bathe.cfm

Transportation –

http://philadelphiaencyclopedia.org/archive/public-transportation/

http://www.history.org/history/teaching/enewsletter/april03/iotm.cfm

School and Career –

http://www.let.rug.nl/usa/outlines/history-1963/the-colonial-period/how-they-were-schooled.php (SCHOOL)

http://www.yale.edu/ynhti/curriculum/units/1990/5/90.05.04.x.html#c (SCHOOL)

http://www.landofthebrave.info/colonial-education.htm (SCHOOL)

http://www.socialstudiesforkids.com/articles/ushistory/13coloniesschool.htm (SCHOOL)

http://www.ducksters.com/history/colonial_america/jobs_occupations.php (JOBS)

Fun and Activities –

http://www.educationworld.com/a_lesson/lesson166.shtml

Clothing –

www.history.org/history/clothing/intro/clothing.cfm

http://www.history.org/history/clothing/intro/index.cfm

African Society –

http://www.history.org/org/almanack/people/african.agintro.cfm

http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/aia/part3/3p1590.html

http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/aia/part3/3narr1.html

https://hsp.org/history-online/exhibits/richard-allen-apostle-of-freedom/the-free-african-society (RICHARD ALLEN)

http://www.aecst.org/ajones.htm (ABSALOM JONES)

Life in the 1790’s –

http://www.pbs.org/ktca/liberty/perspectives_daily.html

http://www.history.org/history/

http://philadelphiaencyclopedia.org/archive/philadelphia-and-its-people-in-maps-the-1790s/

http://www.localhistories.org/18thcentcolonial.html

http://teachinghistory.org/history-content/ask-a-historian/24098

Mrs. Burke- RENAISSANCE


Britannica School Edition logo
World Book Web logo

Reader - nysl_ro_holley - msic
Reader - nysl_ro_holley - whic

 

WEBSITES
History: Renaissance for Kids 
(this site may seem very elementary but there's a lot of great information here)

A Beginner's Guide to the Renaissance

Topic: Europe 1300-1699
... and Wikipedia is a great place to start- just make sure you verify the information elsewhere.

Find:
Search Keywords Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Series
Advanced Search

ART HISTORY PROJECT- Miss Neadow

          

Art History Archive 
http://www.arthistoryarchive.com/arthistory/
Scroll down to the Art Movements & Periods.

The Artcyclopedia 
http://www.artcyclopedia.com/
Either search by artist or by art movement.

Art History Resources 
http://arthistoryresources.net/ARTHLinks4.html
Ignore the ads- this is a pretty good resources list of links to good sources.

      

Prosocial Gaming

UVA Bay Game logo
Simulation of the Chesapeake Bay watershed.  See the impact on the economy & environment.

Evoke logo
The goal of the social network game is to help empower people all over the world to come up with creative solutions to our most urgent social problems- Social Innovation, Food Security, Power Shift, Water Crisis, the Future of Money, Empowering Women, Urban Resilience, Indigenous Knowledge, and Crisis Networking- it's all here.

World Without Oil logo
Alternate reality simulating an oil crisis impacting the globe.

OR
create your own prosocial game using:
GameMaker
Stencyl
​Scratch

Ozobot images 2018

MRS. WOLF- DRUG SONG

Mrs. Wolf

Audacity is a free, open source, cross-platform software for recording and editing sounds.
Audacity is currently downloaded on all the library desktops and laptops computers, as well as in the 216 Computer Lab.

The library owns 4-Snowball USB microphones and will set-up the quiet study rooms as 'sound studios' for you as needed-
please see Ms. Osur or Mrs. Foster to reserve a sound studio.

FREE Audacity tutorials- there is a good beginning tutorial on this site, along with many advanced tutorial options linked on the right side of the page.

Additional Audacity tutorial and manual can be found here.

 

Use the Soundzaound database (linked below) for sounds and background music of all types- jazz, rap, hip-hop and more.

Soundzabound logo
Soundzabound Music Library offers a wide variety of music, audio themes and sound effects for grades K-12 that ensures your copyright safety. Soundzabound is a fee-based subscritpion database purchased by Monroe 2 BOCES. You will need to use the school database login for access.

Mr. Crissman Current Events 2018

NEWS SOURCES

Rochester Democrat & Chronicle logo
Our local Rochester newspaper- use your database login to access.
____________________________________________________________________

Newsbank logo
WORLD NEWS SOURCES
Use the link to Access World News for over 9,000 world publications. 
Pay attention to the dates available as not are all current.

LOCAL NEW YORK STATE NEWS SOURCES
TV news transcripts & newspapers- check link to New York News Sources for the following: Buffalo News, Daily Messenger (Canandaigua), Daily News (Batavia), Post Strand (Syracuse), Times Union (Albany), as well as ABC, CBS and FOX WNYW. 
* REMEMBER to look at current publications- the ones listed here ARE :)
Search America's News Magazines (link) for Mother Earth News, National Review, Newsweek and more.
_______________________________________________________________________________

COMPARING POLITICAL LEANINGS OF NEWS SOURCES


copyright Vanessa Otero 2016

LINKS TO SOURCES
SKEWING LIBERAL (top) TO CONSERVATIVE (bottom)

Natural News- David Wolfe
Addicting Info
The Bipartisan Report
US Uncut
The Atlantic
Slate
Vex News
Face the Nation
MSNBC
The Huffington Post
The Guardian
The Wall Street Journal
Christian Science Monitor
NPR (National Public Radio)
BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation)
PBS (Public Broadcasting Service)
The Washington Post
The New York Times
NBC (National Broadcasting Company)
ABC News (American Broadcasting Company)
CBS News (Columbia Broadcast System)
AP (Associated Press)
Reuters
USA Today
CNN (Cable news Network)
The Economist
The Fiscal Times
The Hill
National Review
Fox News
Daily Caller
RedState
The Blaze
Breitbart
INFOWARS

 

MRS. MENZIE- SPANISH

NEWSPAPER MAP- search the map for links for newspaper articles published in world countries, then translated into your language of choice

HISTORY OF TECH

History Channel logo

Explain That Stuff logo

The Great Idea Finder logo

Inventor-Strategies dot com logo