Skip to main content

Monroe 2-Orleans BOCES SLS

                                   Summer and Fall 2019 Professional Development

                                         Sign up for our professional development opportunities on www.mylearningplan.com

                                                   Image result for Frontline Education Professional Growth

 

       1.  Librarian Tech Camp 

Date:  August 21, 2019         

Time:  8:30-3:00 

Location:  BOCES 2 ESC 

Presenter:   Various 

Audience:   School, Academic and Public Librarians 

Free for all component districts and nonpublic schools in the Monroe 2-Orleans Region  The Librarian Tech Camp will be taking place again this summer.  Sessions will include topics, trends, and instructional practices using the latest technology.  The keynote will be from Project Look Sharp on News and Media Literacy.  Stay tuned for more information. 

 

 

  2.  September SLS Council Meeting and Professional Development 

Date: September 24, 2019 

Time: 8:00-3:00 

Location: TBD 

Presenter: We Need Diverse Books and Jim Belair 

This is a combination for the bi-monthly School Library System Meeting and Professional Development.  Half the day will be spent for the SLS Council Meeting where we will discuss our Plan of Service, direction for the SLS and seek input and feedback for SLS activities.  The other half of the day will be spent in professional development.  For this session we will be attending the RRLC sponsored We Need Diverse Books training. 

 

 

  3.  OverDrive for Librarians 

Date:  10/1/2019    

Time:  4:00-5:00 

Location:  CaTS Training Room A   

Presenter:  Randy Meyer 

Audience:  Librarians 

       We'll explore Overdrive Marketplace where you can go to purchase new titles, compile collections of recommended books, 

       assign titles to classes or reading groups, upload original content, and run reports about ebook usage at your school.  

 

        4.  Destiny & OverDrive: Ask Us Anything 

Date: October 11, 2019                    

Time:  9:00-12:00                        

Location:   CaTS Training Room A                              

Presenters:  Randy Meyer & Patti DiPassio    

Audience:    Library clerks 

        Learn more about the library tech tools that you use every day. We'll have a menu of tips, tricks, and tweaks to get the 

        afternoon started, but please bring along any questions or problems you'd like us to tackle.  

 

       5.  Re-Imagining Information Fluency and Standards Alignment for our Students 

Date: October 11, 2019                    

Time:   8:30-3:00                        

Location:   TBD                              

Presenter:  Dr. Barbara Stripling    

Audience:    Library Staff, teachers, administrators 

Students are the heart of any school library program.   As school librarians, we know we must teach our students the skills they need to succeed in the ever-changing and complex information environment.  The Empire State Information Fluency Continuum (ESIFC) has been re-imagined to provide a guide for that teaching; it is a comprehensive PK-12 continuum of the skills, responsibilities, and dispositions that will enable our students to flourish, both personally and academically.  The skills of the ESIFC will align with the expectations of various national and New York State standards documents, including NextGen science standards, New York’s Social Studies and ELA standards, and AASL and ISTE standards. 

In this workshop, we will explore the new ESIFC and translate it into action.  You will discover essential skills of inquiry, multiple literacies, design thinking, social responsibility, and even student agency.  Most importantly, you will be able to collaborate with colleagues to develop personalized approaches, lessons, formative assessments, and strategies to transform teaching and learning in your school.    

 

        6.  OverDrive for Teachers 

Date:  10/16/2019   

Time:  4:00-5:00 

Location:  CaTS Training Room A   

Presenter:  Randy Meyer 

Audience:  Teachers 

       Come and explore the new Monroe 2 BOCES ebook and audiobook library in OverDrive! We'll explore the Sora app, which has

       features specially geared to the classroom  use of ebooks. During this hands-on workshop, you'll learn how you can personalize the

       catalog and ebook interface, and try out features like highlight and insert notes, add new words to your glossary, and get your

       personal reader statistics.  

 

       7.  BOCES 2 Makerspace Kits for Libraries: New this Year! 

Date: 10/24/2019          

Time: 12:30-3:30PM            

Location: CaTS Training Room B                 

Presenter:    Lindsay Neumire    

Audience:    Librarians & Library Staff 

        Our Monroe 2 Maker collection has grown! If you're ready for some hands-on time with the new kits available for your library, this

        workshop is for you. For each tool, we will talk about how it works, how it can be used with students, and the educator resources

              that are available to support you. 

 

 

                8.  Dive in to Digital Content for K-5 

       Date: 11/7/2019          

       Time: 12:30-3:30PM          

       Location: CaTS Training Room B                 

       Presenter:    Randy Meyer & Lindsay Neumire    

       Audience:    Librarians & Teachers 

       If you’re looking for digital content that is designed for the elementary classroom, we have stuff for you! Staff and students 

       have access to a wealth of digital resources through the Monroe 2-Orleans BOCES School Library System, including eBooks,

       streaming video, and research databases. In this session, participants will learn more about accessing digital content and using it

       to support teaching and learning in the classroom.   

 

       9.  November SLS Council Meeting and Professional Development 

Date: November 12, 2019 

Time: 8:00-3:00 

Location: ESC Board Room 

Presenter: TBD 

This is a combination for the bi-monthly School Library System Meeting and Professional Development.  Half the day will be spent for the SLS Council Meeting where we will discuss our Plan of Service, direction for the SLS and seek input and feedback for SLS activities.  The Monroe 2 Orleans BOCES School Library System will be holding training on various topics relevant for our districts and our school libraries. The SLS Council Liaisons should attend these meetings so they can turn key them back to their district. All training sessions are open to all librarians in the Monroe 2 Orleans BOCES region. The topics will change for each session. Topics may include Online Database Instruction, Follett Destiny Instruction, Media Portal Instruction, eBook Instruction, New Standards Instruction... 

 

       10.  Dive in to Digital Content for 6-12 Social Studies 

Date: 12/3/2019          

Time: 12:30-3:30PM          

Location: CaTS Training Room B                 

Presenter:    Randy Meyer & Lindsay Neumire    

Audience:    Librarians & Teachers 

If you’re looking for digital content that is designed for the middle/high school social studies classroom, we have stuff for you! Staff and students have access to a wealth of digital resources through the Monroe 2-Orleans BOCES  School Library System, including eBooks, streaming video, and research databases. In this session, participants will learn more about accessing digital content and using it to support teaching and learning in the classroom.   

  

       11.  Dive in to Digital Content for 6-12 Science 

Date: 12/12/2019          

Time: 12:30-3:30PM         

Location: CaTS Training Room B                 

Presenter:    Randy Meyer & Lindsay Neumire    

Audience:    Librarians & Teachers 

If you’re looking for digital content that is designed for the middle/high school science classroom, we have stuff for you! Staff and students have access to a wealth of digital resources through the Monroe 2-Orleans BOCES School Library System, including eBooks, streaming video, and research databases. In this session, participants will learn more about accessing digital content and using it to support teaching and learning in the classroom.   

 

 

 

 

My Learning Plan

 

Fall and Winter 2018 Professional Development

Sign up for our professional development opportunities on www.mylearningplan.com

My Learning Plan logo

1. BOCES2 Makerspace Kits For Libraries - Spotlight on Sphero BOLT

Audience: Librarians
Dates: 2/28/2019

Come meet the newest member of our Makerspace Collection, Sphero BOLT! We will learn all about playing and coding with BOLT and the Sphero EDU app. We will also look at examples of how BOLT can be used in collaboration with classroom teachers across subject areas and ages. Sphero BOLT is part of the Monroe 2 Makerspace collection, and is available for loan to all librarians in Monroe 2-Orleans BOCES schools.

2. SLS Council March Meeting

Audience: School Librarians
Dates: 3/5/2019

The Monroe 2 Orleans BOCES School Library System will be holding its March SLS Council Meeting as required under NYSED Regulations.

3. OverDrive For Librarians

Dates: 3/19/2019

After an orientation to the Sora interface and its features, we'll explore Overdrive Marketplace where you'll go to purchase new titles, compile collections of recommended books, assign titles to classes or reading groups, upload original content, and run reports about ebook usage at your school.

4. Breakout For Libraries

Audience: Librarians
Dates: 3/28/2019

Time to get on the Breakout bandwagon! Escape room-style games are very popular in schools right now, but what if you don't know anything about them or how they can be used in a library? This session is for you! We will examine the actual Breakout EDU kits and learn about setting locks, finding pre-made Breakout games and game ideas, and even creating your very own games. No box? No problem! We will also explore Breakout's online games. And of course, we will play! Breakout EDU kits are part of the Monroe 2 Makerspace collection, and are available for loan to all librarians in Monroe 2-Orleans BOCES schools.

5. Ensemble Video

Audience: Library Staff, Teachers
Dates: 4/11/2019

Once students or teachers make digital videos, they are often faced with the problem of how to share these videos with others. Ensemble Video makes storing and sharing videos very easy. This workshop will show you how to upload and organize videos and playlists as well as how to share them easily with students, colleagues and families. **NOTE** Ensemble is a paid product available through BOCES Brockport, Churchville-Chili, Gates Chili, Hilton, Holley, Monroe 2-Orleans BOCES (BOCES internal staff), Spencerport, and Wheatland-Chili currently subscribe to this service.

6. BrainPop User Group for Classroom Teachers (Morning Session)

Audience: Classroom Teachers from all Rochester Area districts
Dates: 4/24/2019

This is an opportunity to meet and share information around how you are using BrainPOP in your districts, while learning more about what BrainPOP can offer. We will have the opportunity to gain some professional development and learn about the new feature your BrainPOP subscriptions offer. Hope to see you there! 
Agenda:
-BrainPOP 101 (The nuts and bolts you may not have known about) 
     My BrainPOP 
    BrainPOP Integrations 
    BrainPOP Educators Web Site 
    BrainPOP Professional Development 
-BrainPOP Creative Coding (New) 
-Share and Compare (How districts/teachers/students are using BrainPOP)

7. BrainPop User Group for Classroom Teachers (Afternoon Session)

Audience: Classroom Teachers from all Rochester Area districts
Dates: 4/24/2019

This is an opportunity to meet and share information around how you are using BrainPOP in your districts, while learning more about what BrainPOP can offer. We will have the opportunity to gain some professional development and learn about the new feature your BrainPOP subscriptions offer. Hope to see you there! 
Agenda:
-BrainPOP 101 (The nuts and bolts you may not have known about) 
     My BrainPOP 
    BrainPOP Integrations 
    BrainPOP Educators Web Site 
    BrainPOP Professional Development 
-BrainPOP Creative Coding (New) 
-Share and Compare (How districts/teachers/students are using BrainPOP)

8. Certified BrainPOP Educator Training (Morning Session)

Audience: Instructional Technology Coaches and those assisting classroom teachers. Classroom teachers please register for the User Group and not this session
Dates: 4/25/2019

This workshop will provide the foundation for earning a “Certified BrainPOP Educator” designation. Over the last few years, BrainPOP has added a breadth of new, interactive features; enabled individual accounts; and given students the ability to submit their work for feedback from teachers. These features add power to BrainPOP, while maintaining the simplicity, quality, and humor that you’ve come to expect. The CBE program was developed by the BrainPOP Educators team - all former teachers themselves - to help you take full advantage of the tools that come with a school’s subscription. It is designed to help you become a more confident and competent BrainPOP user - and have a fun doing it!

9. BOCES 2 Makerspace Kits For Libraries - Spotlight On Robots

Audience: Librarians
Dates: 4/25/2019

Dive in to some of the awesome tools that the BOCES School Library System has for you to use in your library! We will demonstrate the Dash & Dot robots, Ozobots, Cubetto, and Cubelets and explore how you can use them with your students. See how your students can learn important skills, including coding and problem solving, with adorable robots. Come play and learn with us!

10. Certified BrainPOP Educator Training (Afternoon Session)

Audience: Instructional Technology Coaches and those assisting classroom teachers. Classroom teachers please register for the User Group and not this session
Dates: 4/25/2019

This workshop will provide the foundation for earning a “Certified BrainPOP Educator” designation. Over the last few years, BrainPOP has added a breadth of new, interactive features; enabled individual accounts; and given students the ability to submit their work for feedback from teachers. These features add power to BrainPOP, while maintaining the simplicity, quality, and humor that you’ve come to expect. The CBE program was developed by the BrainPOP Educators team - all former teachers themselves - to help you take full advantage of the tools that come with a school’s subscription. It is designed to help you become a more confident and competent BrainPOP user - and have a fun doing it!

11. Best New Children's Books for Grades K-5

Audience: School and Public Librarians, Teachers
Dates: 5/2/2019

In this engaging workshop, Kathleen Odean will introduce outstanding books published during the last year for students in kindergarten through fifth grade. She will present excellent new picture books, easy readers, fiction, nonfiction, biography, and poetry. They will include read-alouds, independent reading titles, and books for reading clubs and discussion groups. The workshop will offer practical ideas for promoting the books and integrating them into classrooms. Participants will learn about resources, websites, display ideas, and extension activities to use with these and other books. Each participant will receive an extensive handout of resource lists and curriculum-related booklists. The day will also incorporate time to share ideas with each other. Registration is limited to school and public librarians and teachers in the Monroe One and Monroe 2- Orleans BOCES Regions.

12. Best New Books for Young Adults (Grades 5-12)

Audience: School and Public Librarians and Teachers
Dates: 5/3/2019

In this popular workshop, Kathleen Odean highlights the very best recently published books for young adults, including a variety of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. She shares practical activities and proven tips for promoting the books and integrating them into the curriculum. This lively informative day gives participants a wealth of top new titles to share with students both in the curriculum and for independent reading. Participants will receive a comprehensive handout of related guides, resources, activities, and ideas aligned with the Common Core Standards and employing a variety of technology tools. Registration is limited to school and public librarians and teachers in the Monroe #1 and Monroe 2 BOCES service areas.

13. SLS Council May Professional Development Training

Dates: 5/21/2019

The Monroe 2 Orleans BOCES School Library System will be holding training on various topics relevant for our districts and our school libraries. The SLS Council Liaisons should attend these meetings so they can turn key them back to their district. All training sessions are open to all librarians in the Monroe 2 Orleans BOCES region. The topics will change for each session. Topics may include Online Database Instruction, Follett Destiny Instruction, Media Portal Instruction, eBook Instruction, New Standards Instruction...

14. SLS Council May Meeting

Dates: 5/21/2019

The Monroe 2 Orleans BOCES School Library System will be holding its May SLS Council Meeting as required under NYSED Regulations.

15. High School to College: Preparing Students for Success

Audience: High School Teachers, Academic Professors, Administrators, Librarians (School, Public, Academic)
Dates: 5/22/2019

Join us for this full day conference where you’ll have the opportunity to learn from your colleagues as we talk about ways to help our students successfully transition from high school to college. This conference will feature breakouts, panels, and poster sessions, with plenty of time for one-on-one conversations and making connections with educators from around the region.

16. Access to Books: Game Changer for Kids with Donalyn Miller (The Book Whisper)

Audience: classroom teachers, librarians, K-12 reading specialists, administrators, literacy coaches, families
Dates: 5/28/2019

Children with meaningful access to books achieve at higher levels and experience greater engagement with reading. In this session, examine the current research on book access in schools, libraries, and homes; discuss intellectual and cultural access concerns including diversity and leveling; and explore resources and strategies for developing and sustaining high-quality classroom library collections that support students’ reading lives. Information based on Game Changer! Book Access for All Kids, published November 2018

17. Invest in Children’s Reading Lives All Year with Donalyn Miller (Book Whisper)

Audience: classroom teachers, librarians, K-12 reading specialists, administrators, literacy coaches, families
Dates: 5/28/2019

The institutional emphasis on standardized testing places students’ reading test scores in front of children’s reading lives. Extensive research proves that children with positive reading identities and the opportunity to read independently at school and home achieve at higher levels on reading tests. In this presentation, Donalyn Miller, describes the factors that engage children with reading both at school and home—ensuring both their academic success and their lifelong reading habits.